Three scatters land on reels 2, 3 and 4. The reels stop, and instead of free spins starting, a coin spins into view. That coin, not the player, decides which of two bonus rounds follows. This is the Coin of Fate in 9 Orbs of Gold, and understanding it is the difference between knowing what you triggered and simply watching something happen.

What the Suits & Royals slot actually is

Here is the first thing worth getting straight: Suits & Royals is the studio, not the game. The slot people are searching for under “Suits & Royals slot” is 9 Orbs of Gold, a treasure-hunt release set in a forgotten Mesoamerican temple, built on a 5×3 grid with 20 paylines. Suits & Royals describes itself as a premium studio making heritage-driven games and is part of Yggdrasil’s YGG Champions initiative.

The second thing worth getting straight: this is not an Egyptian or Roman slot, despite how most “ancient world” coverage files it. The studio’s own stated inspiration is Mesoamerican architecture and pattern work, which matters if you are browsing a lobby looking for pyramids and scarabs.

How do you trigger the 9 Orbs of Gold bonus?

Three scatter symbols landing on reels 2, 3 and 4 activate the Coin of Fate, which then selects one of two bonus rounds. That is the full confirmed trigger condition. There is no reported path involving two scatters, no reported scatter pay, and no published figure for how often the trigger lands.

Note what that reel restriction does. Because the scatters must appear specifically on the three middle reels, the outer reels are irrelevant to the trigger, which is a tighter condition than the common “three scatters anywhere” rule. It also means a near-miss looks different here: two middle-reel scatters plus one on reel 1 or 5 is not a near-miss at all.

What the Coin of Fate decides

The Coin of Fate picks between a Free Spins round with no set spin limit, in which every win raises the Orb values, and a Hold & Win round with sticky Gold Coins. The player does not choose when the coin decides, and both outcomes come from the same scatter trigger. The one way to pick a side is the bonus buy, which prices Hold & Win or Unlimited Free Spins at 45x the bet each.

This is where the published information stops, and it is worth being blunt about that. The launch material does not state the probability split between the two rounds, does not say whether the coin is weighted, does not publish the values the sticky Gold Coins can carry, and does not explain what “no set limit” means in practice for the free spins (whether spins continue until a non-winning spin, until a counter expires, or on some other condition). Those are the questions that decide how the feature actually feels, and nobody has published the answers. Check the in-game help screen before you treat any explanation of it as settled, including the sequence below.

Step by step: what happens once the round starts

The confirmed sequence, with the gaps marked honestly:

  1. Three scatters land on reels 2, 3 and 4 during the base game.
  2. The Coin of Fate appears and resolves to one of the two rounds.
  3. Free Spins path: spins run with no stated limit, and each winning spin increases the Orb values carried into subsequent spins. The release does not specify a starting Orb value, an increment size or a ceiling other than the game’s overall cap.
  4. Hold & Win path: Gold Coins land and stick in place. In this class of mechanic, sticky symbols usually reset a respin counter and the round ends when the counter runs out or the grid fills, but the launch material does not confirm the respin count, the reset rule, the coin values or a full-grid outcome for this specific game.
  5. The round ends, totals are added to the balance, and base play resumes.

If you want the general version of how a locked-symbol feature behaves across games, our explainer on how Hold and Win rounds work in Egyptian-theme slots covers the standard structure. Treat it as the shape of the mechanic, not a description of this release.

Where the money comes from: orbs, wilds and coins

The orbs are not only a bonus symbol. In the base game, three to nine Orbs landing anywhere pay an instant win of up to 2,000x the bet, and all nine filling the board is the game’s signature full-board hit. Wilds pay on their own line wins too, with five Wilds awarding up to 2,500x the bet. The sticky Gold Coins in the Hold & Win round have no published value range at all.

Every published figure is a ceiling, not an expectation. “Up to 2,000x” describes the top rung of the Orb value ladder, whose lower rungs are where almost all results actually land, and the material gives no distribution across that ladder. The game’s default maximum multiplier is listed as 6,010x. The word “default” is doing work there, since studios often ship configurable versions to operators, so the cap and the RTP you are playing may not match the launch figures.

The published numbers, and the one that should slow you down

Specification Published figure
Grid 5×3, 20 paylines
RTP 94%
Hit frequency 38%
Volatility Low to medium
Default max multiplier 6,010x
Bonus trigger 3 scatters on reels 2, 3 and 4
Bonus buy 45x the bet for Hold & Win or Unlimited Free Spins

The 94% RTP is the figure to notice. Most modern slots sit somewhere around 94% to 97%, so this release is at the bottom of that band: a 6% house edge, against roughly 4% on a 96% game. Over a long session that difference compounds quietly, and no bonus structure changes it, because the bonus rounds are already counted inside that 94%.

The volatility label is the other surprise. A 6,010x cap reads like a high-volatility game, but the studio lists it as low to medium with a 38% hit frequency, meaning a win on a little over a third of spins. Those two facts together suggest the big ceilings are rare and the everyday experience is frequent small returns. Reading “6,010x” and expecting swings is the mistake this paytable invites.

What to check before your first spin

Open the in-game information screen and confirm the RTP your operator is running, since the 94% figure comes from the launch announcement rather than from the lobby in front of you. Check the paytable for the Orb value ladder, which the press material summarises as “up to”, and for the Gold Coin values, which it does not summarise at all. Check whether the bonus buy is available at your casino: the game offers Hold & Win or Unlimited Free Spins for 45x the bet each, but feature buys are prohibited in several regulated markets, so the button may not appear for you. Then set your stake knowing the trigger has no bet-size requirement that has been published, which means a higher stake buys no better access to the Coin of Fate.

This habit of checking the screen rather than the announcement is not specific to one game. We have written before about slot releases where the provider published no RTP or payline figures at all, and the gap between launch copy and the live build is routine.

Playing a coin-flip feature without fooling yourself

The Coin of Fate removes player input from the single most consequential moment in the game, and that is worth sitting with. You can influence your stake and how long you play. Short of paying 45x to buy a round outright, you cannot influence which bonus the coin gives you, how the orbs are valued, or whether the coins stick. Any session plan built on “I’ll keep going until I hit the Hold & Win” is a plan with no end condition, because 38% hit frequency on base spins says nothing about how long a bonus trigger will take. Buying the round does not fix that either: a 45x purchase is 45 full stakes committed to a single outcome, and the 94% RTP still applies.

Set a loss limit in the cashier before you spin, not after a dry run of fifty spins has changed your sense of what is reasonable. If your operator offers deposit or session limits, they are more useful here than willpower. And if a 94% RTP game is where you are spending your entertainment budget, know that the 6% is the price of the entertainment, not a temporary condition that a bonus round reverses.

What is still open: the weighting of the Coin of Fate, the structure of the free spins limit, and the respin rules and coin values in the Hold & Win round. Until Suits & Royals or an operator publishes a full paytable, those answers live in the game’s help screen and nowhere else.